Help Me Raise Funds For My L.L.B At Saurashtra University

By Dhaval Chopda

$ 134 Raised

of $ 448

5 Donors

in 348 days

29%

Story


My name is Dhaval and I belong to the Jam Khambaliya village in Jamnagar, Gujarat. I was born in 1990. Currently, I am working with

Centre for Social Justice(CSJ) as a field co-ordinator. My field includes South Gujarat and Coastal  Gujarat which comprise of 10 talukas. Major responsibilites  are checking monetory data,  identification of field issues, managing account and administration. Before joining CSJ in June 2014, I was part of  Gandhi Fellows Batch  2012 - 2014, a leadership program. 


My family consists of my mother and grandmother. I have struggled a lot in my life through small work engagements and have experienced ups and downs on various occasions. I am the bread winner in my family because after my father expired, I had to solely handle all the home affairs. I have completed my graduation in B.S.W in Rajkot and along with my studies I have done field work under Rajkot Municipal Corporation. I am a creative person. Whatever knowledge I have achieved, it is because of team work and art activities and while I am learning more about the fellowship processes, I am getting learning more about myself. Because of this I am able to apply this experience at my professional and personal life. 

Life has not been easy for me. The situation my family is in, is not very favorable. When my father passed away,  I had to make big sacrifices for my family. Fortunately, I had a lot of support from my teacher and my uncle which helped me to tackle the situation.


When I was studying in Junagad, I participated in N.S.S camps where I visited numerous villages. During those visits I participated in street plays to spread awareness about cleanliness and ill effects of tobacco addiction amongst the villagers. I assessed myself by learning from different teams those all participated in the village activities and I realized my current level of skills and areas for improvement.


I pursued my studies in social work because I wanted to make a difference in the society. My objective was to impact big issues through small means. I have learnt during my three year course on how to work in the social sector.


There are incidents that have shaped me and taught me many things. When I was studying in class 5, I did not have good clothes and books like my fellow classmates. This was because after my father expired, the financial situation in my family worsened. I sought support from my uncle during that time and I assisted him in his shop work to meet my basic needs.


In my school, I was a member of a school cricket team. The team constantly had a lot of differences about who was to bat. I played the role of a mediator and helped the team to resolve all the differences. This peace keeping method helped the team to reach semifinals in a district level tournament.


The most important values in my life are bravery, accepting responsibility, honesty and respecting others. I believe that helping others is my sole aim in life because I have always adhered to this belief. Due to time constraints and multiple commitments, I find it difficult to meet my close ones. Apart from this, I work on all the areas that I need to develop in my life.


My agenda is the empowerment of widows through social and economic uplift means in Jamnagar. The biggest problem in India is that widows do not have their own identity. This causes them to fall in financial and economic problems. These widows are socially harassed and constantly targeted. No one ever comes forward to help them and their lives come to a full stop.


Why do I want to join Law school?


During my association with CSJ, I have come across a lot of  voilence against women cases. With the knowledge of law, I will be better equipped to fight such issues in my community. Also, it will empower me in making women aware of the legal procedures and their basic rights.

Campaign Details


About Campaigner
DC
Dhaval Chopda
 
About Beneficiary
DC
Dhaval Chopda

Top Promoters